Surette Lab participates in McMaster IIDR Trainee Day 2017

Many members of the Surette Lab participated in Institute for Infectious Disease Research (IIDR) trainee day on October 26, 2017 sharing their research stories by taking part in poster presentations and talks. The theme of the day was “Resistance is futile: advancement of infectious disease research”. 

Kim Chau, Christine Chow, Daphnee Lamarche, Shahrokh Shekarriz, Rachelle Szymkiewicz, and Bryan Wu shared their research stories participating in poster presentations. Ophelie Quillier and Patrick Schenck were nominated by IIDR students and staff to give talks in the afternoon regarding their current research. Great job everyone!

A very special mention goes out to three members of the Surette lab. 
First to the Staff winner of the Michael Kamin Hart Memorial Scholarship, Laura Rossi. This award is given to a staff member who has achieved excellence in demonstrating the IIDR’s core competencies and values while making outstanding contributions in the role. Laura shares Micheal’s spirit in her daily work through her leadership, passion for science and constant strive to always learn as she mentors the students within the lab as well as participates in microbiome research. Laura is a deserving winner of this award and all students of the Surette Lab appreciate all your hard work and dedication to science!


Patrick Schenck, was selected by his peers to share his research during student presentations on IIDR trainee day entitled, “Assessing the importance of the nasal microbiota during Streptococcus pneumoniae colonization” . Patrick was the PhD candidate winner of the Mildred Gulliver Scholarships in Infectious Disease Research for his delivery of his research and contribution to anti-infectious research.



Christine Chow participated in IIDR by presenting her research during the poster sessions held throughout the day. Christine’s research focused on “Characterizing the Type VII secretion system in the Streptococcus milleri group” . Christine won the Fisher Scientific Undergraduate Poster Award for delivering the best undergraduate poster at the event.


Congratulations Laura, Patrick and Christine on your accomplishments!